Albums of the year

November 30, 2009 at 2:23 am (Music, Music Journalism (Wireless Bollinger and other stuff))

Hello world! To inaugurate my new blog I’ll post a link to the spreadsheet I just made with my end-of-year list of my favorite albums for the music website I write for sometimes, wirelessbollinger.com.

 

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AkyOwf4nKzUFdFJCVDJ6eU1CSmVvMXZuendvOV9Bbmc&hl=en

 

As you can see my tastes this year have been on the electronic and moody side, and a number of the albums on here are probably not going to be familiar to too many people outside of Seattle–namely Fighter X’s Little Fighter X EP, Madrid’s self-titled album, and (my honors seminar mate Travis’s project) Naomi Punk’s self-titled debut. No Grizzly Bear this year because, well, to be honest I’ve not even gotten it to listen to yet! Some music journalist I’m supposed to be. Anyway, I was surprised at my own list when I sat down to write it–I realized a number of things deserve to be on there which I wouldn’t have thought of off the top of my head. Also, I was reminded of how much I need to really give that Memory Tapes album some more spins–it’s number one on my list and I’ve only listened to it in its entirety a couple times!

 

Anyway, if you’re reading this, what are some of your favorites from 2009?

Leave a Reply

