((Speak))

February 12, 2010 at 12:16 pm (Uncategorized)

There’s this jazz band (or is it a jazz band? yeah, okay, I get it, that’s, like, the perennial question–my answer to this question is that, at this point, one of the telling characteristics of jazz [there are many, as I see ‘jazz’ as a cluster concept] is that it brings up the question of whether or not it is jazz; if you feel the need to even ask, then yes, it’s jazz) that’s composed of some UW students and some people. It’s kinda gritty, slightly discordant, slightly rock-inflected. I haven’t heard ’em live yet, but their record sounds phenomenal; check out their myspace:

((Speak)) on Myspace

They’re playing at the chapel at Good Shepherd Park in Wallingford on Thursday, the 18th at 8PM ish. It’s their record release. They’re supposed to be awesome live. Make it out if you are at all interested in contemporary jazz music–as far as I know it’s hard to hear good jazz live in this city for a reasonable price. On Thursday it’ll only be $5-$15, sliding scale.

Damn, check out that whole first minute and a half to Amalgam in the Middle, especially the sick (what I think is a) synth-sax.

Leave a comment